Bagels: crispy, chewy and easier to make than you might think!

This week I acquired a copy of Bread Revolution by the Thoughtful Bread Company. It’s a lovely book, full of tempting bread recipes and suggestions for how to make the breads the centre of a delicious meal. We were lucky enough to see a couple of their bakers give a demonstration last week, and I’ve been itching to make my own bread ever since.

I’ve never really thought of making bagels before as I assumed that it would be really complicated, but when I came across this recipe I was pleasantly surprised – I decided that it was definitely worth a go. I’ll admit that my shaping of the bagels is a little, erm, ‘rustic’ but the texture has turned out really well. I’d love to have another go at these and try incorporating some fried onions into the dough. Or cinnamon and raisin. Or strawberry and cardamom. Or chocolate chips…

After you have let your dough rise and knocked it back, shape it and let it prove again.

Boil the bagels for a few minutes:

After boiling, bake the bagels in the oven until they are lightly browned.

Brunch Bagels from Bread Revolution by the Thoughtful Bread Company

750g strong white flour

3 tsp fine sea salt

2 tsp dried yeast

375ml warm water

7 tsp honey

Optional: seeds of your choice for decoration

1. Mix flour and salt together, then stir in dried yeast. Make a well in the centre and add water and honey. Mix the ingredients together and knead for 10-15 minutes until the dough is smooth and elastic.

2. Place the dough in a lightly oiled bowl. Cover and leave to rise until it has doubled in size (about an hour).

3. Knock the dough back and divide it into 12 equal portions. Shape each portion into a ball and leave to rest for 5 minutes.

4. Using your thumbs (I used the end of a wooden spoon) make a hole in the centre of each ball and gently stretch it out with your fingers. Place the bagels on a floured baking sheet and dust the tops with flour. Leave to rise for half an hour.

5. Preheat your oven to 200°C. Half-fill a large saucepan (I used my sauté pan – the water doesn’t need to be too deep) with water. Bring it to the boil and add a pinch of salt, then reduce temperature to a simmer. Place the bagels into the water in batches, allowing enough room for them to expand. Cook them for 2 minutes on each side then place back on the baking trays. This is the moment to sprinkle on any toppings that you fancy – I used poppy seeds for mine.

6. Bake for about 15 minutes in the oven until they are lightly browned. (Mine took a little longer).

7. Leave to cool on a wire rack.

8. Enjoy!

~ by smileysoyabean on 21 April 2012.

7 Responses to “Bagels: crispy, chewy and easier to make than you might think!”

  1. I’ve always wanted to make bagels – might have to give these a go!

  2. As always, a lovely post. I’m really glad you posted this as I read a post by someone else who’d made bagels and they’d fried them in oil rather than boiled them in water! I’m hoping your method is the norm – you’ve restored my faith in this tasty staple.

  3. Thank you for this post! I remember getting a really dated book on Jewish cookery out from the library which basically said you need to have a bagel oven if you want to make bagels, and didn’t give any other details. I think I’ll have better luck with your recipe!

  4. Give it a go! 🙂
    I’ve been really impressed with how well they last too- I’ve been eating them for lunch all week. I wonder what a bagel oven looks like?!

  5. I never even thought of making bagels either! Bagels are one of my favourite foods so this post has definitely made it onto my “What to cook next” list.

Leave a Reply

 
