Vanilla pomegranate frozen yoghurt (and it’s healthy too – hurrah!)

Lately I’ve been a little snowed under and haven’t been able to post as often as I’d like, so this post is a little overdue.

First of all, a big thank you to Big Hungry Gnomes and Decidedly Delicious for nominating me for the Liebster Blog Award.  This award is a really lovely way for new bloggers to acknowledge and promote their favourite new blogs. As I have been nominated, it is now my happy duty to nominate five more blogs.

1. Kokopelli’s Chocolate (mouthwatering chocolate creations)

2. Kate’s Creative Space (beautiful food and craft ideas)

3. Zeelicious (lovely photography and some very good advice on cooking Indian food)

4.  My Fancy Pantry (a fellow spice addict with beautiful recipes)

5. Radish Girls (gorgeous photos)

Go and check these guys out! But before you do, here’s some frozen yoghurt.

I’m still working my way through the Snog cookbook and I’m really enjoying making frozen desserts at the moment – expect to see more of my experiments here in the near future 🙂 This is a no-guilt dessert, sweet but tangy and a perfect refreshment after a heavy meal. Of course you could make it in an ice-cream maker if you have one, but I don’t have that luxury so I blend the mixture every couple of hours until it’s frozen to avoid big ice crystals.

The recipe calls for pomegranate molasses – if you can’t buy any it’s very easy to make your own. Just don’t do what I did and boil it for so long that it sets solid…

Pomegranate and vanilla frozen yoghurt from the Snog cookbook

1/2 cup low fat milk

1 vanilla pod or 2 tsps vanilla extract

3/4 cup unsweetened pomegranate juice

3 1/2 cups plain Greek yoghurt

2/3 cup agave nectar

2 tbs pomegranate molasses

1. Scrape the vanilla seeds from the pod and place in a saucepan with the milk over a low heat to infuse – add the scraped out vanilla pod as well. Bring the milk to a simmer, then remove from the heat and allow to cool. Remove the vanilla pod (you can rinse it, dry it and then use it to make vanilla sugar).

2. In a large mixing bowl, stir together the infused milk with all of the other ingredients. Cover and cool in the fridge until well chilled.

3. If you are using an ice-cream maker churn the ice-cream now, following the maker’s directions. If not, place the mixture in the freezer and break up ice-crystals every 2 hours or so until the mixture is completely frozen. I recommend using an electric blender, but you can do it by hand with a fork or whisk.

~ by smileysoyabean on 16 April 2012.

5 Responses to “Vanilla pomegranate frozen yoghurt (and it’s healthy too – hurrah!)”

  1. It’s kind of strange to be wandering through the food blogs on WP and come across somebody thanking my daughter for the Liebster Award. What are the chances of that?
    Lovely post btw.
    Best,
    Conor

  2. Ah, I see you’ve been introduced to the other blogger in my family. small world, indeed! This looks absolutely delicious.

  3. Thanks so much for nominating me 🙂 I really appreciate it. The froyo looks delicious too – might have to give that one a go! x

  4. I love your blog, so here’s your Kreativ Blogger Award. Keep up the good work! http://zahody.wordpress.com/2012/04/19/kreativ-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

 
