I don’t care what the weatherman says…

… when the weatherman says it’s raining, you’ll never hear me complaining!

But you will hear the sound of my blender whizzing up these delicious summery strawberry rhubarb basil frappés.

I found this recipe in the Snog cookbook and thought it sounded like a perfect refreshing drink for the summer. Finally having all the ingredients in my possession I decided that I’d test it out today… and then the grey clouds rolled in and the rain poured down.

The weather didn’t put me off of course – thank goodness! The frappé was absolutely delicious – sweet and fresh with a really good consistency. Better yet, it’s completely guilt-free as the sweetness comes from agave nectar so there is no sugar.

Start by chopping and stewing your rhubarb:

Once the stewed rhubarb is cool, add it to the strawberries and all your other ingredients in the blender:

Whizz it up, and you’re done! Here’s the recipe in full:

Strawberry rhubarb basil frappé

(makes 4 small glasses, or 2 medium glasses)

2 oz rhubarb, chopped into inch-long pieces

10 oz fresh strawberries (hulled)

5 tbs agave nectar

2 tbs chopped fresh basil

10 oz crushed ice

1. Place the rhubarb in a small saucepan with 2 tbs agave nectar and a little water. Simmer over a medium heat until the water has evaporated and the rhubarb is mushy. Set aside to cool, then chill in the fridge.

2. Place the rhubarb, strawberries, remaining agave nectar, basil and ice together in a blender and whizz until well-blended.

3. Garnish with some fresh basil leaves or a small strawberries. Serve immediately and enjoy!

~ by smileysoyabean on 4 April 2012.

4 Responses to “I don’t care what the weatherman says…”

  1. These look amazing! I’m having a BBQ this weekend come rain (which is looking very likely at the moment) or shine. Do you think honey would be okay to use instead of agave?

    • Thank you! Honey should work just as well. I haven’t ever used honey as a sweetener when stewing fruit, but I don’t think it would cause any problems.
      Enjoy your BBQ – I’ll keep my fingers crossed for sunshine!

  2. This sounds delicious- my father-in-law grows rhubarb so I’m going to save this recipe for my first bunch!

    • Lucky you to have a supply of lovely fresh rhubarb! This recipe only uses a little piece – I have more than enough leftover to make my favourite crumble too 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
