2 of my 5-a-day? Buttermilk lemon sorbet with blueberry compote

I was looking for a nice light dessert today, it seemed like a perfect opportunity to try out the lemon buttermilk sorbet that has been lurking on my Pinterest board. I’m not generally a huge fan of fruit sorbets as I often find them too acidic, but I thought that the addition of buttermilk would help to round out the flavour. Whilst at the supermarket I spotted some blueberries and hoped that if I found a way to incorporate them into dessert I’d add a little extra nutritional value. Surely this dessert could equal 2 of my 5 a day?

The sorbet was very easy to make – I don’t have an ice cream maker so I just whisked all the ingredients together and put it straight into the freezer, beating it every hour or so. I made the compote simply by stewing a punnet of blueberries with a good squeeze of lemon juice and about a tablespoonful of sugar until thickened. After about 6 hours the sorbet was frozen enough to eat, but ideally could have done with a little more time in the freezer. I was a little impatient with the compote – I should have let it cool for a little longer before I served the dessert, but it wasn’t a huge problem. The sorbet and the compote worked very well together: the zingy flavours of the lemon and the mellow, sweet taste of the compote made a very pleasant end to our meal. This recipe is a keeper!

~ by smileysoyabean on 26 March 2012.

One Response to “2 of my 5-a-day? Buttermilk lemon sorbet with blueberry compote”

  1. Yum yum! Summer’s on it’s way… 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
