Bread with a kick

Whilst we were clearing out the fridge prior to a week away from home, we suddenly realised that some rather sad looking figs were lurking at the bottom of our fridge. I needed to use them up quickly, so I searched for a suitable recipe and came across this rather intriguing recipe for cracked black pepper and fig bread. It was extremely easy to make, and it came out of the oven looking like this:

The recipe does call for dry figs, so I dried out my fresh figs on a low temperature in the oven for a few hours so that the moisture content wouldn’t affect the bread too much. The figs were a really lovely addition to the bread, they gave it a fabulous crunch – I can imagine them working well in a seeded loaf of bread too. Once sliced, I topped my bread with some Davidstow cheddar (my favourite) and the sweetness of the figs complemented the tanginess of the cheese beautifully.

This would be a good recipe to impress at dinner parties I think – all it took was a dusting of flour and a few slashes with a knife to get a really professional look. My loaf was fairly sturdy – it’s very filling as a sandwich bread, so I’d recommend just having a small slice or two – this would make a welcome addition to any cheeseboard. There is a considerable amount of pepper in the original recipe, if I make it again I’d prefer to tone it down a little so that the flavour of the fig can come through, but overall I was quite pleased with this loaf.

~ by smileysoyabean on 19 March 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
