Birthday baking

Millionnaire’s shortbread is one of my boyfriend’s favourites, so I’ve baked a tray of it for his birthday today. It’s a decadent treat – shortbread, topped with caramel then chocolate – but we only eat it once in a while. I followed this recipe here, (omitting the salt flakes as I didn’t have any) but it did seem to contain an excessive amount of butter. I’ll try a different recipe next time, let me know if you have any suggestions. In spite of the heart-attack inducing amounts of butter, it turned out pretty well – we even had a little bit for breakfast (birthdays are only once a year, right?!). I couldn’t resist making some adorable mini-bunting to decorate the plate – it’s a lovely way to jazz up a cake platter.

 

 

~ by smileysoyabean on 16 March 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
