(Almost) Superhealthy Granola

With a nut allergy, it’s very difficult to find healthy breakfast cereals. Granola and muesli almost always contain nuts and the few that I can eat are alarmingly expensive. At least that’s the excuse I give myself as I tuck into yet another bowl of Coco Pops.

I’ve been meaning to try making my own granola for a while, and I finally gave it a try today. It’s full of healthy seeds, including linseeds – a really useful source of Omega-3 for vegetarians (they aren’t in the picture below as they’re added to the granola after cooking).

I adapted a recipe that I found, taking out the ingredients that I didn’t like, and adding in others that I do like. The wonderful thing about granola is that it’s so easy to customise – you might like to stick to your own favourite version or you might want to try a different flavour every week. It’s so easy to make that I’m sure you won’t be able to stop…

Chocolate Granola

300g rolled oats

50g sunflower seeds

50g pumpkin seeds

125ml agave nectar/maple syrup (I used a blend of maple syrup and carob syrup as I had it in the cupboard)

2 tbs healthy oil of your choice (I used sunflower)

2 tbs honey

1tsp vanilla extract

A dusting of cinnamon

To finish:

100g dark chocolate (chopped)

A generous scattering of linseeds

1. Mix the dry ingredients and the wet ingredients in separate bowls, then combine and stir well.

2. Spread the mixture out over two large baking trays and cook at 180ºC for about 40 minutes, or until the oats are golden brown. You will need to stir the mixture every 10-15 minutes throughout the cooking.

3. Remove the granola from the oven and allow to cool on the trays.

4. Add linseeds and chocolate. (If you prefer to add dried fruit instead of chocolate, do it at this stage)

5. Try to resist eating the whole batch immediately.

6. Once cool, transfer into an airtight container.

~ by smileysoyabean on 10 March 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
