The not-so-upside-down-upside-down cake

I came across this recipe for blackberry upside-down cake and thought that perhaps I could adapt the recipe to make a sort of drizzle cake to finish off the rosemary syrup that’s been knocking around in my fridge. It’s a lovely, simple recipe and it took no time at all to get the cake in the oven.

After a few minutes I peeked in. Hurrah, I thought – it’s rising, looking good! By the end of the cooking time I realised that it had risen rather a lot and wondered how it could ever become an upside-down cake. Maybe it will sink as it cools, I thought…

It didn’t sink at all and I didn’t have the heart to cut the top off, so my upside-down cake is more of a right-way-up cake. I’ve skewered some holes in it and drizzled with rosemary syrup and I’m rather pleased with the result! This is a lovely cake for afternoon tea – it’s not too rich and it’s quick to make. The rosemary is light and fragrant – not pungent as it is in some savoury dishes – and adds interest to what is otherwise a very simple cake.

~ by smileysoyabean on 6 March 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
