Is it warm enough for sorbet?

I think so. For the record, it’s never too cold to eat ice cream as far as I’m concerned. I’ve been known to eat ice-cream al fresco in November…

For my birthday this year I was lucky enough to receive a copy of the Snog recipe book, full of delicious recipes for healthy frozen yoghurt and sorbets. The first recipe to jump out at me was the chocolate and Earl Grey sorbet, and it doesn’t disappoint (now that I’ve figured out how to make it properly).

For my first attempt I didn’t have any agave nectar, so I just put in a few squeezes of honey instead and hoped for the best. What I got was a fairly bitter lump of cocoa flavoured ice. On my second attempt I somehow failed to notice the need to add 3 cups of water to the mix, so I ended up with a sort of treacly sludge that wouldn’t freeze at all. After much puzzlement I realised my error and thankfully managed to save the sorbet. Third time lucky :).

I’m sure that if you decide to try this recipe, you’ll have no such problems – give it a go! This is a really good recipe for anyone avoiding eggs or dairy – it tastes wonderfully rich so no-one will miss them.

Bitter Chocolate Earl Grey Sorbet from Snog Healthy Treats Cookbook

3/4 cup agave nectar

1 cup cocoa powder

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp sea salt

2/3 cup strongly brewed Earl Grey

3 cups cold water

1. Place all the ingredients into a saucepan and bring to the boil. Remove from the heat and leave to cool in the fridge until completely cold.

2. Place in an ice-cream maker or, if like me you don’t have an ice-cream maker, place in a tub in the freezer. After 2 hours, beat with an electric mixer to break down the ice crystals. Place back in the freezer and beat every hour or two until the sorbet is completely frozen.

3. Allow the sorbet to soften in the fridge for about 10 minutes before serving.

~ by smileysoyabean on 5 March 2012.

One Response to “Is it warm enough for sorbet?”

  1. Yum looks delicious! Warm enough or not I want this, haha. Stop by and say hi šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
