Burritos

It’s been a while since I had any Mexican inspired food and I keep seeing amazing looking black bean dishes over on Foodgawker, so I thought it was time to try my hand at burrito-making.

I started out by making some guacamole. The last couple of times I’ve made guacamole, it hasn’t turned out well. Although I was using a tried and tested recipe, the red onions that I used were bitter and overpowering. I did some research and I’m guessing that this happened because I made the base for the guacamole in my blender. To avoid bitterness this time, I used a shallot instead and chopped it very finely by hand then allowed it to soak with the lime juice and a little salt as suggested in this recipe. Thankfully, this batch turned out much better than my previous attempts and I couldn’t resist having some for my lunch, along with these exciting hexagonal linseed tortilla chips:

Once I’d finished munching on the guacamole, I started to make the black bean filling and the tortillas. I was loosely inspired by this recipe but made a few alterations.

I started by frying the shallot left over from the guacamole with half of a large white onion, then added some garlic. Then I added ground coriander, ground cumin, cayenne pepper and the magic ingredient: smoked paprika. I discovered smoked paprika last year and it’s been an essential ingredient in my chilli ever since. It gives an amazing depth that can sometimes be missing from vegetarian food. Once the spices were added, I poured in some vegetable stock, sprinkled in some dried oregano and left the beans to simmer down.

The tortillas were surprisingly easy to make. My flatbreads have been hit-and-miss in the past, but I was really pleased with the way that these turned out. Granted they weren’t particularly round – the shapes ranged from square to hexagonal (if anyone has a tip for rolling out round things, please let me know!). When my cooking turns out a little wonky, I prefer to call it ‘rustic’ as I think it adds a certain charm…

By this time my trusty kitchen assistant had come home from work and helped me to finish them off on the skillet. Here’s the charmingly rustic stack of tortillas that we ended up with:

Once everything was cooked, it was time to fill! Beans, then lime and coriander rice, cheese, guacamole and sour cream. I think I was a little overambitious here, my burrito rolling leaves a lot to be desired….

The finished article:

And yes, of course the filling fell straight out of the bottom when I picked it up…

~ by smileysoyabean on 26 February 2012.

2 Responses to “Burritos”

  1. Oh my goodness, this seriously makes my mouth water… it looks delicious

Leave a Reply

 
