Blueberry pancakes – Happy Pancake Day!

I spent a large portion of my day trying to decide what sort of pancakes I should have for dinner. This morning I was definitely feeling traditional. I was all ready for thin pancakes with lemon and sugar – my childhood favourite. By this afternoon, however, my thoughts had swung to these light and fluffy buttermilk pancakes, bursting with blueberries and served with a dollop of refreshing natural yoghurt. By the time I reached home I was rather set on the idea.

‘No!’ said my OH scornfully, ‘You can’t eat those pancakes on Pancake Day – you’ve got to have lemon and sugar!’. It looked unlikely that we would reach a compromise, so he kindly offered to make a small batch of each. What an excellent plan!

Here is one of our blueberry pancakes. Under artificial lighting it was very difficult to do it justice, you’ll just have to trust me that it was very tasty…

I found this recipe a few years ago and made some adjustments. It’s perfect for lazy Sunday brunches when you need to feed a hungry houseful. This recipe makes enough for two hungry/greedy people (I fall into the greedy category – I will never turn down an extra helping of pancakes) but will serve three or four people if only a small portion is required.

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups plain white flour

1/2 cup wholemeal plain flour

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

4 tbs sugar

2 lightly beaten eggs

2 cups buttermilk

6 tbs melted butter

Roughly 1 cup blueberries

A little sunflower oil/butter for frying

1. Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl.

2. Mix the blueberries with a tablespoon or two of flour to help prevent them from sinking to the bottom of the batter.

3. Mix the eggs, buttermilk and melted butter in a separate bowl.

4. Add the buttermilk mixture to the dry ingredients and mix to form a lumpy batter, then add blueberries. Be careful at this stage not to stir too much as this will make your pancakes tough and chewy – stir until the ingredients are just combined.

5. Add a little oil/butter to the frying pan and heat to a medium temperature. Spoon a ladleful of batter into the pan and cook until the underside is golden brown. Turn the pancake and cook the other side until golden brown. Repeat with the remaining batter.

6. Enjoy! I serve mine with natural yoghurt (Greek is best) and a drizzle of mild honey or some maple syrup.

Tips: I use a little wholemeal flour to give my pancakes more substance, substitute for plain white flour if you prefer.If you do use wholemeal flour, use plain or spelt flour (not wholemeal bread flour as this could make your pancakes heavy).

If you have no buttermilk, I would recommend adding a tablespoon of lemon juice/cider vinegar to a cup of milk and allowing it to stand for 10 minutes. Use this and 1 cup of yoghurt in place of the buttermilk.

Frozen or fresh blueberries will work equally well, but don’t allow frozen blueberries to defrost or they will turn the batter an unappealing shade of grey.

~ by smileysoyabean on 21 February 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
