Beetroot Gnocchi

Here is this week’s new recipe, I found it here quite a while ago but never got round to making it. We make gnocchi quite often, but I’ve never tried the beetroot version before. I love the earthy flavour of beetroots and was keen to try cooking them in a different way. Unfortunately, my naughty supermarket sent the wrong type of beetroot in my delivery – the sort that have been soaked in a little vinegar. Really I think I’d have been better off using them in a salad (as I will do with the leftover ones) but I though I’d test out the gnocchi recipe anyway. Although I found the dough a little trickier to work with, they were fairly straightforward to make. The flours used are all gluten-free and I think this made the dough a little more fragile than usual. Hazelnuts are a no-no for me, so I omitted the hazelnut flour. The colour was quite amazing – it probably looks like I’ve played with the photos but, incredibly, this is how vivid they actually were.

I made a watercress pesto to accompany these gnocchi, but truth be told the combination was rather odd. After seeking advice from the OH, I opted to serve them very simply with a drizzle of olive oil and some hard goats cheese (and a good sprinkle of black pepper of course). I really can’t quite decide whether I liked this dish or not but I’m glad that I finally gave it a go. It looked beautiful in any case…

~ by smileysoyabean on 20 February 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
